Penmen Ice Hockey Team (Credit to snhupenmen).

Just a week before the SNHU Men’s Ice Hockey team captured the NE10 Conference Championship title for the second time in the program’s history, the NE10 released its annual hockey and All-Conference Division Awards. These awards, presented on February 21, recognized standout players for their accomplishments on the ice.

Among these players was SNHU goalkeeper Kurt Gutting (20), who was named Goalkeeper of the Year. Gutting played in 21 of the team’s 27 games this season and had a save percentage of .935, the highest in SNHU history.

“My initial reaction to winning Goaltender of the Year was pure joy after all the hard and long years of putting in the work on the ice,” Gutting said.

Gutting also placed second in the NE10 for his impressive goals against average of 2.17. He also made 648 saves and had a winning percentage of .650. Much of this success stems from his teammates, stating that “it shows the commitment level of the defenseman.”

Brett Strawn (19) was named to the NE10 All Conference First Team. Strawn, who lead the Penmen with nine goals and fourteen assists this season, ranked fifth in the NE10 for assists.

Joe Fiorino (22) was named for the NE10 All-Rookie Team. Fiorino, who scored the winning goal in the NE10 Championship, was first in the +/- category, which measures a player’s impact on the game and is represented by the difference between the team’s total scoring versus their opponent’s when the player is in the game. Fiorino ended with a +21, and was the only defenseman named to the All-Rookie Team.

Jake Cox (22) was also named to the NE10 All-Rookie Team. Cox is tied for the team lead, with three power-play points this season. Cox was also one of just four NE10 skaters to score three goals in one game.

In addition to phenomenal players, phenomenal coaches were also recognized. Coach Sean Walsh was announced as NE10 head coach of the year, leading the Penmen’s best record and first NE10 Championship win since the 2013-2014 season. Walsh, a 2006 graduate from SNHU, is in his second year at the helm of the Penmen.

Leave a Reply