Tyler McLaren runs like the wind. (image credit: SNHU Penmen)

On Saturday, October 7, the SNHU Men’s Cross Country team took part in the New England Intercollegiate Amateur Athletic Association (NEICAAA) Cross Country Championships at Franklin Park in Boston. The race featured 180 athletes from 27 Division I, II and III schools across New England.

Senior Tyler McLaren recorded his third fastest career finish at the race with a time of 25:25.6, earning him a second place finish. Leakey Kipkosgei of American International College was the only runner to surpass past McLaren, flying to a winning time of 24:51.3.

McLaren’s performance highlighted the race for the Penmen, who finished 15th overall with a collective score of 337.

Freshman Cedric Jocelyn (Nyack, NY) finished next for the Penmen, coming in with a time of 26:26.3 and was the first Division II athlete to cross the line. Sophomore Michael Moreno (Houston, TX) followed Jocelyn with a 26:36.4 finishing time. Junior Chris Burrill (Exeter, NH) checked in next with a time of 27:09.9. Coming in only a few seconds behind Burrill, first year student Micah Hewitson recorded a time of 27:24.4, while senior Andrew Tuttle (Alton, NH) and freshman Jack Ardrey (Milford, CT) rounded off the SNHU harriers only .2 seconds apart from one another, with 27:52.7 and 27:52.9 times, respectively.

Stonehill College captured the title with 119 points as a collective team. They were followed by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (124), the University of Massachusetts-Amherst (133), Central Connecticut State University (166) and Dartmouth College (192).

The Penmen are idle for the next couple weeks until they compete in the Northeast-10 Conference Championship at Stanely Park in Westfield, MA on October 22.

Catherine Lachance
Catherine is a junior at SNHU majoring in communications and minoring in psychology. She is in her first year as Lead Copy Editor for the Press. She previously served as Sports Editor for a year and a half. She has a passion for writing and sharing people's stories and loves interacting with the SNHU athletic community. In addition to the Press, Catherine has written professionally for Turley Publications in Palmer, Massachusetts. She is also a tennis coach at Longmeadow Country Club in Longmeadow, Massachusetts during the summer. Catherine is also working on her website, Cat's Writing Blog, where she shares all the stories she has written for press, as well as personal experiences she has gone through. She hopes to receive an internship next year at a journalism or marketing agency.

Leave a Reply